The Clown’s Mask


 
Dear little clown, you bring such joy
A smile for some and others you annoy
Dear clown, you are so funny,
You make cloudy days seem sunny
Such finesse with your craft,
Tell me, who makes you laugh
Is there endless joy in your life?
Have you met any strife?
A constant smile on your face
You seem to fit in every place
Always up and ready to give
In constant mirth, you must live
But wait, little clown, I see something new
It isn’t obvious to all, but perhaps to a few
That your smile is painted, your eyes are too
The expression you have is not really you
Why clown of all clowns, what you hide is the truth
The truth of your pain and the memories of youth
I imagined you happy, full of good cheers,
I never imagine you would shed any tears
Oh sweet little clown, who makes you laugh
Have I taken from you and not given back?
You give and you give, but do you receive?
What you hide is your sorrow, this I believe
When the smiles and paint have all been erased
Who is the person who looks back at your face?
When you look in the mirror at the you who is you
Do you enjoy and cherish the person you view?
Sweet little clown, is there a smile that needs no paint
An expression of joy or love that is real and quaint
I hope little clown that the love in your heart
Is fulfilled and enjoyed as you give us your art
Smile for me, show me some teeth
Amidst all the paint, what I love is underneath.
 
Copyright © 2010 Alma Deleon. All Rights Reserved.


 

158907

One thought on “The Clown’s Mask

  1. tqhousecat says:

    I love your poem. Thank you for liking mine. I am not a poet but I love the challenge and have been encouraged. Words don’t come easy but I love words and all kinds of puzzles. You have quite a bio. God bless all you have done and contributed to. I am humbled that you would even consider my measly offerings.

Leave a comment